Australian Ham Radio Discussion Forum ( AHRDF )
Remote your shack, how do you do it? - Printable Version

+- Australian Ham Radio Discussion Forum ( AHRDF ) (https://www.ahrdf.net/forum)
+-- Forum: GENERAL (https://www.ahrdf.net/forum/forum-29.html)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.ahrdf.net/forum/forum-9.html)
+--- Thread: Remote your shack, how do you do it? (/thread-669.html)

Remote your shack, how do you do it? - VK5PJ - 23-10-2018

Hi
 as a keen VHF operator, I am often frustrated by the good openings happening while I am at work. . . maybe you have had similar frustrations, maybe you could add your input to this thread.

What really sparked this up to 'frenzy' level was the opening on 50 MHz across the south pole last December, I would have to come to work knowing that some time mid morning there would be most probably be an opening and I would be at work.  Arrrgh Angry

Okay, so my work involves me spending a lot of time in front of a PC, with the occasional slow time where I have to wait for other processes to finish, step one how do I get to connect to my Shack PC from work?  For me this step involved creating a free account with TeamViewer which allows me to install their software on the work PC and the home PC.  I can then as needed connect to the home PC.

To control the rig, it is connected to the Shack PC via either a mix of USB and serial data, so the WSJT-X and FLdigi software has control over the rig.  So now I can at least run JT65, WSPR or FT8 from remote (even from the teamviewer app on my phone).

Next step, how do I control the rotator, hmmm  this step has caused me a lot of headaches as to what to use, I eventually settled on an EA4TX rotator controller that plugs up to a USB port on the PC and can be controled a number of different ways.