Australian Ham Radio Discussion Forum ( AHRDF )

Full Version: Using CTCSS or DCS to filter traffic
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
G'day people, newbie here.I need help on the use of repeaters. My situation: I live in central Victoria and chat with my brothr in northern Victoria, sometimes via HF and sometimes via VHF. With VHF we make contact via the Mt.Alexander repeater which uses tone access, 91.5 Hz.
My brother's in the habit of leaving his radio (we each have TYT TH-9800 quad band receivers) on all day to pick up when I call. However often there's too much traffic and it can be distracting. I'd like to use CTCSS so he can filter out that traffic. Then the only transmission he'll hear will be that from me.
My questions:
When I transmit on the repeaters uplink my TYT transmits a 91.5 Hz tone to cause the repeater to pass my audio to its transmitter. Does the repeater also pass my 91.5 tone to its transmitter?
If the answer to the preceding is yes, then when my brother's transceiver is set to use the Mt.Alex repeater does it block reception of signals lacking this tone? Or does it receive all, such as nearby simplex traffic?
Can I transmit a DCS with my tone and have my brother set his radio to filter out transmissions that lack this DCS? The idea is to limit his reception to my transmissions and not all Mt.Alex traffic.
Sorry for the long post but I'm new to this. I may be asking too much of the repeater. Things were simpler back in simplex days.
regards, Rob
Rob

DCS tones should pass through any repeater BUT you need to also transmit the 91.5 access tone to activate the repeater itself. Most repeaters require the control tone to open but do not re-transmit them.

It may seem a bit complicated but if your existing radio does not allow concurrent transmission of both signalling methods (however unlikely) then a work-around might be to..