Australian Ham Radio Discussion Forum ( AHRDF )

Full Version: Who can write me a wee bit of software?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
At the moment I use Windows Task Scheduler to turn off my PC at a particular time. 
What I would like it to do is send the "Turn Off" CAT command to my FT817ND ( and my IC7300) prior to shutting down my PC.
I have no knowledge of how to write pc software. I stopped at Qbasic umpteen years ago and I think I have had too many birthdays to start learning.
Is there anyone out there who could do this for me?
It would be much appreciated.

Regards,
Nev
Hello Nev,
I have some scripting code in Python I use to turn off my main Icom rigs when needed. A question for you, are these radio's normally connected to digital mode software like WSJT-X or JTDX etc. when you want them to turn off ? The reason I ask about that, is access to the CAT serial port is locked when this sort of software is running and it (WSJT-X / JTDX etc) would need to be closed first before a power off could be sent to the radio.

otherwise it can be done via a script which could be part of the power-down process you use now.
Thank you Peter for answering my post. Yes, I am running WSJT-X and yes, I did discover that the com port is locked, much to my annoyance. I was trying to get Spectran to connect!
I would be very interested to find out how you achieved the turn off of the rigs. 
Task Scheduler is not a simple matter  to set up. I have been looking at the different "commands" it has and I can't find a 'close' or similar command to terminate a program like WSJT-X. The shut down command turns off the PC.
I look forward to your suggestions.

Nev
Hi Nev,
to kill off the digital software before hand, you can use the utility built into windows called TASKKILL

as an example on my PC where I am writing this I had the outlook mail program running (outlook.exe), from a CMD prompt I issued